More Manitoba MPs Come Out for Kinew

June 1, 2017

Winnipeg, MB – Current and former Manitoba NDP Members of Parliament Daniel Blaikie, Bill Blaikie, Pat Martin and Judy Wasylycia-Leis announced their support of Wab Kinew for Manitoba NDP Leader today.

“Brian Pallister’s ideologically driven agenda is out of touch with the needs of regular Manitobans – they didn’t vote for ER closures, job losses and cuts to essential frontline services,” said Daniel Blaikie, MP for Elmwood-Transcona. “Wab brings a fresh perspective, diverse experience and the excitement we need to renew the NDP and offer Manitobans a better option; the option of a government that governs for everyone, not just those at the top.”

Also proud to add their endorsements today are:
Bill Blaikie, former MP for Elmwood-Transcona and Manitoba MLA for Elmwood
Judy Wasylycia-Leis, former MP for Winnipeg North and Manitoba MLA for St. Johns
Pat Martin, former MP for Winnipeg Centre

“Those adding their support to my campaign today are some of the finest to ever represent Manitobans in the House of Commons,” said Kinew. “Their voices are among those calling for a party and a leader that will help build the stronger communities of tomorrow by making sure all Manitobans are valued and supported. I am grateful for their support.”

Daniel Blaikie is the NDP MP for Elmwood – Transcona, elected in 2015.

Bill Blaikie was the NDP MP for Elmwood – Transcona and its antecedent ridings from 1979 – 2008. He served as the NDP Critic for many portfolios, including Social Policy, Health, and Foreign affairs.

Pat Martin was the NDP MP for Winnipeg Centre from 1997 – 2015 and was NDP Critic for numerous portfolios, including the Canadian Wheat Board and Public Works.

Judy Wasylycia-Leis was the NDP MP for Winnipeg North and Winnipeg North-Centre from 1997 – 2010. She served as the NDP Critic for Health, Finance, Women’s and Senior’s Issues. She also served as the NDP MLA for St. Johns from 1986 – 1993, and as a Cabinet Minister from 1986-1988.

2017-06-01T16:59:57+00:00 June 1st, 2017|News Release|